Mobsters on the loose

image

image

One thing I don’t like to do is disturb birds that are nesting. Yesterday, my job called for checking the area along the lagoon side as I needed to conduct a count of black skimmer chicks and make sure that all the posts were up. As I walked and got closer I feared being attacked (mobbed) by these fairly large birds. No matter how far away I was from their nests/chicks,  they came out to let me know that I was too close although I really wasn’t.
These birds swoop very close to you and “bark”. It was rather scary, but I kept on working stopping to take a picture of this behavior. I was able to count 32 chicks. I am sure that there are more, but they love seeking shelter under a parent. 

Facts:
They nest in colonies.
Wingspan: about 44 inches

So imagine what it feels like to have not one but several attempt to mob you at the same time.

Leave a Reply

