Cut short

image

image

This weekend I witnessed an adult black skimmer flying past me with something rather large (considering they feast on small fish) in its mouth. It would land,  chomp on whatever it was, and repeat. At one point it dropped what was in its mouth. I quickly approached the area and saw that it was a chick. A dead one.
I picked it up. It was still warm. I held it for a while trying to figure out what went wrong. Black skimmers are new to me and I learned that they will do this to chicks (not their own) that will come near their nesting area. I’ve also learned that they will fly up high with the chick then drop it.
I proceeded to place the chick outside of the nesting site and stuck a feather in the sand next to it
Broke my heart to witness this but there was nothing I could do.

Leave a Reply

